Two weeks!! Two weeks and I’ll be all the way across the world in Mombasa, Kenya doing something that I’ve only dreamed of. For almost a month I’ll be shadowing physicians, volunteering in clinics, helping out with health/disease awareness campaigns and of course exploring what adventures africa has in store for me! I cant even explain how excited I am, but also incredibly nervous! I’ve been away from home for long periods of time before in college, but lets be honest, africa is a little farther away than a four hour car ride!

Becoming a doctor has always been a dream of mine, I’ve always wanted to do something in the medical field. My dreams went from becoming a Veterinarian, to a sports trainer, to a medical illustrator and then finally taking on the challenge of pursuing Medical School. Biology is so incredibly interesting to me and the human body and its functions are such amazing things, it’s just something I cant get enough of! My favorite classes have been anatomy, forensics, biology and chemistry in high school and I’m excited about pursuing a biology pre-med major at South Dakota State University. One of the things that I’ve always wanted to do is travel to different continents and practice medicine either through the Peace Corps or organizations like Doctors without Borders. How thankful I feel that I get the opportunity so soon in my life to do just that!!

For months I’ve been preparing for this trip; fundraising, applying for a visa, gathering things like insect repellant and mosquito netting, getting every vaccination in the book (ouch) and researching the Kenyan culture. We received our itinerary about a week ago and I cant even tell you how many times I’ve read it I’m so excited! A two day safari, exploring miles of white sand beaches, experiencing the local culture, visiting historical sites and working in the local orphanages (I’m bringing a basketball! 🙂 ) are just a few of the things we might get to do!!

Two weeks, two weeks, two weeks!!!!!

